Miracle Morning Day 1

Important announcement: My sabbatical from the blog was generously sponsored by my inner critic. The inner critic assisted in a writing lull that had me second guessing what I had to share with others from parenting to work. The inner critic has decided to cease sponsorship.


I just finished reading the Miracle Morning by Hal Elrod and it was just the kick start I needed. I have been wanting a morning routine that was just for me for awhile. A morning routine that doesn’t involve an abrupt start by an alarm, a rush to get Ryder ready, fed, clothed, brushed, and out the door. Having spoken about meditation in the past and wanting to make a practice of it but failed, I knew I need to just take control and give myself a challenge. I work best when presented with a challenge as well as a “how to guide”.

This morning was my first morning trying the Miracle Morning method. Here is how it works.

Wake up at 5:00 am.

Have a glass of water.

Splash water on your face.

Go into an area of your home where you have set up the proper tools to start your morning.

Follow the SAVERS method.

S: Silence (sit in meditation- I did it for 5 minutes- repeating inhale abundance, exhale love)

A: Affirmations (thanks to Louise Hay I have a card deck of affirmations. Yesterday I went through the cards that spoke directly to the affirmations I am looking for).

V: Visualizations (I sat on my pillow and visualized what I want in life- at this point in my life I visualized a SOLD sign on our home and a new home with a view of the water).

E: Exercise (Yoga- I have wanted to get back into yoga but the timing of my yoga classes – in the evenings – make it difficult to get out. I downloaded the app FitStar Yoga and started with an 18 minute flow- loved it!)

R: Reading (5 minutes from Pema Chodron’s Start Where You Are)

S: Scribing (Writing in a journal, but because I want to be held accountable I am going to write in the mornings on the blog as my journal)

So how was Morning 1? Honestly it feels great. I absolutely loved knowing that the morning was for me to set up the way in which I want the rest of the day to flow. I loved getting a yoga practice in before 5:30 am. I have to admit that I was interrupted at 5:15 am by a waking Ryder (he is still on Austin, Texas time). Fortunately Jeff hadn’t left for swimming so he was able to take Ryder while I finished up my yoga flow.

The goal is to try this for 30 days- which means a full review on March 20th. I know I need this as well. I need the morning silence, the practice of meditation, and the energizing flow of yoga first thing.

So here we go….

4 thoughts on “Miracle Morning Day 1

  1. I woke up this morning wanting to write also but didn’t make it down the creaky stairs without one child tagging along then the second came within minutes….it’s a challenge for mom’s to find “me” time but making it a priority is essential. Glad you are back to blogging :)

    Like

  2. What a great way to start your day! Can’t wait to hear how the habit goes! Oh, and welcome back. Glad to inner critic is taking a backseat. Perhaps our inner critics should take a road trip to a far away land…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

