This is the everyday (not staged)

Lately I have been scouring the internet looking a home design blogs. Perhaps it is the nearing of the fall that makes me feel like a change is needed or maybe it is just my can’t-sit-still-too-long personality. Regardless, I have been oohing and awing over a million pages of home decor sites. From Design Sponge to Apartment Therapy I find myself spending (way too much) time wondering how to get that particular look and researching ways to reinvent and reorder my living room.

In the midst of having that excited-for-change feeling I also find myself in my own swirl of thoughts, once again believing that the grass is greener elsewhere. Homes seem to be immaculate. Style and design appear to come as easily as walking to many of the bloggers. Books are neatly piled on coffee tables. White couches are covered with lovely textile pillows. Kitchens… oh lordy, the kitchens.. don’t even get me started on their amazingness.

To give my head a good shake I reminded myself that these photographs of beautiful spaces are staged. The lighting is filtered, the white space made even whiter with overhead lighting or perhaps a professional photographer’s set up. The books are carefully chosen to go in a particular spot on the coffee table. Tables are set with great care and colours aligned to match the wall colours. These are just glimpses. Not the everyday.

Inspired by Momastery’s post “Give me Gratitude or Give me Debt“, I thought I would share both the glimpses and everyday life around here. (Excuse the poor photography skills. Something is wrong with my DSLR these days, the lighting (well I didn’t do any staging for this), and my IPhone camera seems to have developed a blur in the corner).

Glimpse 1: My office. Paintings, tea, vision boards, lovely lighting.

DSC_0137

THE REAL VIEW: Yup that is a bike beside desk. I share the office with my husband who uses it as a training space. It’s tidy but cramped.

DSC_0140

Glimpse 2. The play area. A painting that hangs above our son’s play area and colourful pillows line the baseboards.

DSC_0147

THE REAL VIEW: Toys and paper. Not neatly placed but in their true form. Being used and loved.

DSC_0146

Glimpse 3: Ryder’s room. Printed off various colourful bike images and have created a couple of collages.

photo 1

photo 2

THE REAL VIEW: A boy’s room in a bit of chaos. Don’t call social services.

DSC_0130

 

One thought on “This is the everyday (not staged)

  1. Love this! So true that we try to emulate the magazines, but you’ve given us the reality! Your home is full of laughter, quality family time, and personality. You’ve got a major advantage over any magazine cover!

    Like

Leave a Reply

