the present moment

I often feel like I am chasing the present moment. Trying to be in the present moment, working at BE-ing, finding the time to just sit and be present. As a parent, this is hard. I am constantly thinking about 20 steps ahead or I should say a day ahead. I make meal plans in my head, organize my to do list, prepare food ahead of time, fold laundry in preparation for the next load… it constantly feels like I am living in the future. And at times I feel as though I am living in the past. Questioning my actions, playing back conversations, reminiscing, wondering if things should have been done differently, soaking in times that once were.

I can’t blame all of this on parenthood. I have always been one to think ahead or question the past. I have always found it hard to settle into the present moment, and trust me I work hard at trying. It feels like I WILL the urge to be in the present moment. I can picture myself sitting at a table, closing- no squishing my eyes tightly shut- and thinking to myself “okay, this is now the present moment- be still”. Of course, I have that fleeting second of stillness and then the to do list pops into my mind, the epic question “what’s for dinner?”, or I daydream about another vacation.

My search for being in the present moment was clarified by some wise words from my Mom. I have been observing her actions the past couple of days and I remarked on how she always seems to be so present in whatever moment she is in. I asked her how she does it.
She shrugged her shoulders, almost as if to say “Oh, Amanda, I don’t know- I just do it”.

She replied, “I just enjoy whatever I am doing at that moment. I focus my energy on what it is I am doing at that very moment and I enjoy it. If I go for a walk, I focus on the walk and enjoying my time outside. If I am cleaning or washing dishes, I focus and enjoy the process of cleaning.”

It seemed so clear after our conversation. Being in the present moment is to be focused and enjoy what is.

I texted my friend that evening “Got some sage advice from Cindy on being present”. Hope you find this advice as wise as I did.

5 thoughts on “the present moment

  1. Reblogged this on bringforth and commented:
    The best thing about blogging, truly, is other bloggers. Bringforth needed a little breather to reboot and recharge. It was hard to say when we would be back but this post from got curls.wordpress.com lit that creative spark. So, here we are, bringing forth again. :) Enjoy and check out our page on Instagram @bringforthwordpress.

    Like

  2. Oh my gosh, Amanda – this blog post is spot on. Living in the present may be my biggest struggle. I just cannot seem to do it, even when I am telling myself “Enjoy THIS moment! Stop worrying about the future! Stop fretting about the past. Just be!” I mean what kind of person am I that I have to tell myself to enjoy the present and just live?! I strive to be more like my dogs – they live in the moment 100%. Great advice from your mom – I will try to follow her example!

    Like

Leave a Reply

