An odd coping mechanism

I’m at that in between stage, where one minute I think I have all my sh*t together and the next I start to get anxious about everything that I haven’t done in preparation for Peanut’s arrival. I had that moment of anxiety last night at my prenatal yoga class, you know the one I wrote about feeling all zenned out?  Yah, well zen left the building last night.

As I sat down on my yoga mat all I could hear around me were women telling each other all the latest and greatest buys, finds, DIY creations, and tips from their prenatal classes. Here were some of the conversations floating around,

“Did you book your private room in the hospital?”

“We registered for baby gifts last night.”

“Can you believe what she told us at prenatal class last week?”

“I thought I was fine with child birth until I saw that video.”

These statements might seem small to the average listener but here is what was going through my mind,

WHAT? A frickin’ private room? How do I sign up for that? Am I too late to get a private room? What if I have to share with some other person and my baby is screaming their lungs out all night keeping the patient awake? Oh crap, maybe I should have registered for the baby shower? What did SHE say in prenatal class last week? Did we wait too long to sign up for the classes? Child birth… for the love of GOD I haven’t even read that chapter in the book yet.

Yes, truly that was exactly was going through my mind pre-yoga and I tried so hard to get those thoughts out, but I couldn’t. I sat there worrying that somehow I haven’t done enough in preparation or maybe I have done the wrong things.

But then I reminded myself of my coping strategy. I haven’t actually told anyone what my coping strategy is, because it actually sounds ridiculous. It worked when Mom, Emily, and I walked our tails off in San Francisco and I would come home worried and anxious that 3-4 hours a day of walking might be a bit too much, wondering why Peanut wasn’t kicking as much as usual (most likely, PURE exhaustion).

So here it goes,

I literally envision myself as a pregnant woman in the 1800s. As this woman in the 1800s I have to work the fields with my husband, pregnant or not. I lift heavy bails of hay, I work my butt off to make sure everything is tilled before sundown and then I put a warm meal on the table. (This worked well for San Fran, when I thought of women in the 1800s who may have had to walk West when their husbands were searching for gold).

Photo from Etsy Shop: Vintage Warehouse: http://www.etsy.com/shop/vintagewarehouse?ref=seller_info

Are you still with me, or have I gone completely insane?

So last night I went to my 1800s personality and thought about the lack of information I would have been privy to as a pregnant woman in that era. I wouldn’t have been able to ask for a private room, I would have had NO clue what child-birth was actually going to be like, I wouldn’t have had a bazillion stroller choices or baby carriers to choose from, and I wouldn’t’ have had the opportunity to register for baby gifts online. And yet, most of these women raised children. They gave birth (not even going to go into their level of pain here), produced healthy children, and did what they had to do.

For some reason this gives me complete ease. Perhaps it is knowing that although I am completely grateful for the multitude of information coming my way, I also feel comforted by the fact that information wasn’t always as readily accessible throughout the ages and …somehow …and ….someway it all worked out.

8 thoughts on “An odd coping mechanism

  1. Amanda, I love how you think about your pregnancy. I don’t think you are crazy. You will do great and you have Jeff by your side ready and looking forward to the birth of Peanut. You are strong and healthy and have so much love to give. And you have friends and family to help you too. I can’t wait to meet Peanut. And like your friend said…they didn’t have pedis :)

    Like

  2. Soooo true!! I am amazed at the amount of opinions that everyone has about being pregnant or raising babies. I love your outlook and will have the kettle on at all times in case we need some hot water for birthing. :)

    Like

  3. Awesome. You know what helps me? Everyone always tells you that you have no idea what it’s going to be like. There’s no way to prepare for everything, yet somehow, everyone seems to get through it…even those people we have the least amount of respect for. Know what I mean?

    I can give you the number that you have to call to book your private room. I plan on spending as little time as possible there so I won’t be reserving one of my own, but my midwife gave me a sheet with all the details at our last appointment. Remind me if I forget.

    You know what else? How lucky are we that there are three of us going through this together!?!? We’ll cope and we’ll do very well, I’m sure…

    Crap…I can’t even get my sh*t together to the extent of remembering to take pictures of the bump…let alone get the other stuff together…but then the nesting instinct will kick in and we will be unstoppable machines of motherhood.

    Pretty soon all of this will seem so trivial…

    Like

  4. OK, yes, that’s great, good coping mechanism etc…..but for THE LOVE OF GOD sign up for a private room already believe me you’ll thank me later :)

    Like

  5. This doesn’t seem odd to me at all! My mom has always said she tried to remember that women have been doing it since the beginning of time. I think this is a good strategy for dealing with any kind of anxiety!

    Like

  6. I didn’t buy much of anything before my first baby was born. I did have a bassinet, a car seat, baby monitor, some diapers and a few newborn onesies & sleepers, but that was all. There’s plenty of time to go shopping after your little one arrives. Being highly prepared is overrated. Good luck! Becoming a parent is a wild ride:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

