living your authentic life. an interview with jessica seddona

I first met Jessica at a mutual friend’s home way back in the fall of 2010. She was quiet and had a beautiful smile. I wasn’t sitting near her so I wasn’t engaged in a conversation with her, but I could tell that she had an interesting story. There was something about her energy and the way she engaged with the other women in the room, something that said to me “You should meet this woman!” Sure enough, as we began to share our stories in a circle she enlightened the room with a beautiful story about her dog, Stella. Her story was heart warming and amazing… I won’t go into the details, but rather will allow her to tell her story of finding her authenticity. Enjoy!

Can you give readers an insight as to WHO you are?


Certified Yoga Teacher, Doula and Massage Therapist specializing in Thai Massage and PreNatal Yoga & Birth Empowerment.

How do you define authenticity?

It’s the acceptance of our self awareness.

Can you describe the path you took to get to the place where you are today? As in, how did you find your calling?

The path I take is full of adventure and I suppose I am most motivated by that. By what I find adventurous. As a younger person this took place in the mountains and as years passed I now find adventures with my soul. I haven’t had only one calling. Sometimes I’m called to a place, a person, a teacher or partner, work, service, study…In 2010 I was called to the West Coast and since I have found a teacher, a partner, a best friend, and have been called back to the yoga mat as a teacher after a two-year hiatus. The calling calls me and I don’t need to look for it, just listen to it and surrender to it.

How does your current career and soulful journey reflect your authentic self?

My authentic self in one who is healing, deep, introspective and this authentic self shows up in everything I do, and definitely as a yoga teacher / can’t fake it on the mat! When I’m out of alignment that person, place, project falls away. I know then I’m living authentically when opportunities come up that are in my flow, that support my calling; which is healing.

Who inspires and motivates you to continue your path to being your authentic self?

I am greatly inspired by the vastness of our human potential and the universes within. The depth into what the cosmos offer, in where the soul travels to and the rivers of abundance our feet long to play in! I am motivated to be authentic for the healing of our planet, for the love we all have access to and I am motivated to live in a state of bliss. I am most inspired by Stella, a soul in a dog’s body who came into my life as a teacher and guide.

How do you ensure that you maintain your own authenticity, when often it can be a struggle?

I practice love and compassion for myself and choose to live with ease. It’s choice. When I am struggling, I remember it’s by choice to struggle or to let go, to let it flow. I practice trusting, surrendering, forgiving so that in any moment I’m ok with me. I practice, practice, practice!

For people struggling to find their own authenticity, what advice can you offer?

To love ourselves during the struggle and doors will open when we least expected them to!

If you had to use one word to sum up your year, what word would that be and why?
Awakening.
My dreamer self has begun to stir!! I am becoming an awakened dreamer, one who is greatly influenced by the cycles and intersections of life. The changing of the moon, of months, of life; these times heighten my intuition and are bridges into my Bliss.

Lastly, where can we find you in the web-o-sphere?

You can find stellar yoga on the web at:
www.stellaryoga.weebly.com

 

Thank you Jessica for participating! You truly are an inspiration.

If YOU would like to take part in the interview series or know someone who you believe truly lives an authentic life, please send me an email: amanda[dot]coolidge[at]gmail[dot]com.

One thought on “living your authentic life. an interview with jessica seddona

Leave a Reply

