Vintage find

Each year my parents give me money for my birthday (which is exactly what I want) and most years I put it directly onto the VISA bill assuming I will use the money for something for me, as it was intended. However, most years that isn’t the case. I deposit the money onto the VISA and unfortunately forget about it, or come up with an excuse as to why I should use it for paying bills versus indulging myself.

To this, I SAY NO MORE.

When my parents gave me the cheque I kept it in my bedside drawer until I knew exactly what I wanted to do with it. I decided to do two things.

1. Buy new waterproof panniers for my bike- absolutely love them- great 30L Axiom brand bags. They carry a ton!

and

2. I signed up to take this fabulous online art class with Mary Ann Moss of Dispatch from LA. I have been art journaling for a little over a year now, and find it to be such a valuable and creative outlet for me.  The course requires that we find a Victorian Album or Vintage photo album to use when creating our projects and I have made some headway on that front, thanks to usedvictoria.ca and thrift stores.

When I went to a nearby thrift store, yesterday, I looked in the vintage book section of the store and wasn’t exactly sure what it was I was looking for. I didn’t think I would find too much, perhaps some odds and ends that could be used for art journaling pieces. Just as I was about to walk to the next aisle, a book caught my eye. It seemed serendipitous. It was vintage. AND about Pakistan (where I used to live from age 12-15). Pretty spectacular.

Vintage Pakistan Travel Book

 

Leave a Reply

