Dr. Brian Weiss- Talk #3 of I CAN DO IT

The third talk of the first day was Dr. Brian Weiss. I hadn’t heard of him and was slightly skeptical when I read his bio stating that he is a psychotherapist who specializes in past life regression. I know, before you think to yourself… hold on there kooky kookerson, let me give some background to his practice.

From his website:

As a traditional psychotherapist, Dr. Brian Weiss was astonished and skeptical when one of his patients began recalling past-life traumas that seemed to hold the key to her recurring nightmares and anxiety attacks. His skepticism was eroded, however, when she began to channel messages from “the space between lives,” which contained remarkable revelations about Dr. Weiss’s family and his dead son. Using past-life therapy, he was able to cure the patient and embark on a new, more meaningful phase of his own career. (From,  http://www.brianweiss.com/)

I didn’t take notes for this talk because Dr. Weiss led us into a guided meditation and his introduction was about his clinical background. In the guided meditation Dr. Weiss, who has the MOST soothing voice ever, had us return to a pleasant childhood memory. Before the guided meditation I was extremely uncertain that I would be able to actually do the meditation. I have wanted to meditate for awhile, but have held back because I keep telling myself that I can’t do it. That I don’t have the attention span to complete a meditation and that my mind will immediately go from the present and my breath to random thoughts about dinner or if I should ride my bike or drive to work. But, such is meditation I guess.

Anyways, as I said I was uncertain as to how the meditation would go. Dr. Weiss’s soothing voice immediately took me into a relaxed state. I was able to think of two favorite childhood memories. The first was a mental tour of our art room in our house in Virginia. I was taken back to the room and could see the wooden table and the art supplies in the box. I saw the nicks in the table, the random glitter embedded on the ground and on the table, and could feel the warmth of the heater. The second memory was a family trip we took to North Carolina when I was 10 years old. I loved that trip. I remember every night being completely exhausted from the sun and playing in the waves of the ocean. I don’t remember a whole lot from that trip, but I do remember absolutely loving the time we spent at the ocean.

As the meditation continued, Dr. Weiss asked us to regress to our embryonic state. I couldn’t do it. Apparently others were able to get to that state, but I was stuck in the art room and at the beach :)

At the close of the meditation Dr Weiss told us we had been meditating for 40 minutes. I was shocked and thrilled. I honestly thought we had meditated for 10 minutes. So either I fell asleep or I was able to successfully meditate.

As a result of this exercise, I have downloaded a series of meditation exercises to begin the practice. So far I am into it 2 days running, will see how it continues!

Leave a Reply

