Gluten-free baking? No problem.

Since going gluten-free I have to say that I haven’t been very adventurous in the kitchen. I have stuck to non gluten recipes, but haven’t been able to diversify my meals, generally sticking to stir fry and gluten-free spaghetti. If you are newbie gluten-free convert, then like me, you are probably daunted by the ingredients list in the recipes. Xanthan gum? HUH, can I use that as a Scrabble word please? Sorghum flour? Potato starch? Everything listed just seems so different and honestly the first thing that comes to my mind is EXPENSIVE. How much is it going to cost to turn my kitchen around and buy all of these gluten-free products? Is it really worth it?

With these questions on my mind I took some time this weekend to read through the cookbook my Mom gave me for Christmas, Artisanal Gluten Free Cooking. It is the first time I actually read the forward and about section of a cookbook and I am so glad I did. The authors and chefs, Kelly and Peter Bronski, do a great job of informing and educating the reader on various gluten-free facts and fictions. One of the best tips I learned is to create and store your own flour mix, by combining a variety of gluten-free flour mixes. If you use plain brown rice flour or “gluten-free” flour, the consistency of your end product isn’t the same as a gluten product. The cookbook suggests an artisan gluten-free flour mix, but again, the ingredients sounded a bit more expensive. I immediately called my mom to see if she creates her own flour mix, and of course she does. Thanks to Mom I not only saved money on my grocery bill, but made an awesome flour mix.

Cindy’s Gluten Free Flour Mix

1 cup white rice flour
1 cup brown rice flour
1/2 cup potato starch or 1/2 cup corn starch
1/2 cup tapioca flour
2 tablespoons flax meal

Combine all ingredients and store in an air tight container.

Thanks to Mom and Artisan Gluten Free Cookbook I made the Banana Nut Muffins on p. 23 of the Cookbook. They were super easy to make and are SO GOOD. Can’t for this treat with a morning coffee at work.

2 thoughts on “Gluten-free baking? No problem.

  1. Hi! I have to say, I was very skeptical of gluten free baking. I made a vanilla coconut gluten cupcake the other day though and I was amazed at how yummy it was!! It tasted just like a regular cupcake except it was a heavier csake. Overall I was pleased with how it turned out!

    Kepp up the great blogging!

    Like

  2. Great blog and beautiful photography, Amanda! You live in a beautiful part of the world – a few years ago Larry spent six weeks in Olympic National Park for business and I was lucky enough to get to visit him. We didn’t make it to the Canadian side, but the Olympic Peninsula was beautiful and I fell in love with the Pacific NW!

    Fun to run into you in cyberspace – hope you are well!

    Like

Leave a Reply

