Happy Birthday Jeff!!

Today is Jeff’s birthday. I don’t even know where to begin to “sum” up Jeff. He is passionate, loving, competitive, resilient, strong, and integral.

You know what I love about Jeff? I love that he always has my back. He is always there to listen to my nagging issues, help me work through a troubling circumstance, or crack up at my ridiculous jokes and dance routines in the living room. Together, we are goofy and when we are goofy and decide at one moment that we are going to talk in different accents, I think “oh man, this is EXACTLY the person I am supposed to be with”. For me, he’s that someone who is thoughtful, sensitive, goofy, fun, and always striving to be a better person.

Jeff is that kind of person you can always rely on. He is extremely dedicated to his friends, family, and of course his sport. In the past year while waiting to receive Canadian permanent residency, he wasn’t able to work (needed the work permit), and and not spend his days on the couch he decided to take the opportunity to train for an Ironman and dedicate his 9-5 days to sport. I love this about him. There aren’t many people out there who would 1. do an Ironman and 2. have the  motivation to train for it while out of work. Nothing stopped him. Every morning he was up at 5:30 am to go swimming, regardless of wanting to lie in. What I learned from Jeff during this time is that no matter what your circumstance in life you HAVE to stay motivated. Motivation and perseverance will get you through lots of uphill battles.

Jeff boarding in Colorado

Jeff always says “Opportunity comes once in a lifetime”. He believes that you need to seize opportunities when they come to you, sometimes those opportunities are on the sidelines asking to be picked and other times the opportunities are screaming in your face. His mantra has been the catalyst for moving to Canada, getting permanent residency, completing Ironman, and succeeding in his daily life.

Jeff @ Triathlon

Jeff, you honestly inspire me . I love the partnership we have and I feel so fortunate to have met you. You are one of the most authentic people you truly know who you are and where you stand in life.

Jeff and I, Victoria BC
6 thoughts on “Happy Birthday Jeff!!

  1. I love this! It is a genuine tribute and thank-you… a celebration of the birth of someone that’s not only really important to you, Amanda, but someone who also inspires so many others… Jeff is a kind soul but with a great sense of humour and a lot of love and respect for you, others, and most importantly his self! Happy Birthday Jeff!!! Here’s to today, and many more amazing years on your horizon!

    Like

  2. Happy Birthday Jeff! Your dad tried to reach you by phone a couple of times today but you were probably out having a great birthday. Hope to see you both in November.

    Like

Leave a Reply

