Books adapted into movies

I can remember the first movie I saw that was adapted from a book I absolutely loved. When I was 14 or 15 years old I read Maeve Binchy’s “Circle of Friends”.  If you PLAN on reading this novel, STOP now. I don’t want to ruin it for you. If you have read it or don’t ever plan on reading it, you can continue following. The gist of the story line is that Bernadette ‘Benny’ Hogan is a slightly overweight, not very cool girl living in Ireland. She falls in love with Jack Foley, who is popular, great looking, athletic a real “dream boat”. He falls for Benny. Does something terrible to Benny (can’t remember what it is now) but she basically decides to forget about him even AFTER he comes back for her.

Okay. So sounds great.

I loved this ending. The fact that the girl who was aching for the cool guy, decides not to go back to him after he did this horrible thing to her (the horrible thing that I can’t for the life of me remember what it is). I think in many ways I considered Benny to be a bosom buddy, the type of girl I could relate to.

So of course, I was eagerly waiting for the movie to hit theaters. I really loved the movie up until the catastrophic moment in the film when, at the end of the film, BENNY TAKES JACK BACK?!  WTF?  Seriously? They changed the ending of the book?  I can remember being in complete shock . I can also remember wanting to stand in front of the theater audience telling them that NO that ending is NOT correct and that they would have been better off reading the book.

This is the exact reason as to why I am so skeptical of seeing “Eat Pray Love”.

I’m torn.

A part of me wants to go see the movie “Eat Pray Love”, to see if the film captures everything I imagined in the book. Another part of me wants to savor what I loved about reading the book, keeping my imagination in tact and remembering how I used the book as a sort of travel guide through my own adventures of life’s upheavals.

If you have seen the movie, what are your reviews? I would love to hear the inside scoop.

4 thoughts on “Books adapted into movies

  1. Jack cheats on Benny with Benny’s self-conscious gorgeous friend (can’t remember her name, but its something Irish).

    Benny wasn’t ready for sex and Jack was aching for it and drunk. Benny’s friend was starved for attention and gave him what he wanted.

    I think that’s how it goes?

    Haven’t seen Eat, Pray, Love yet. I’m just finishing up the book now and I’m already nervous for the movie myself. I LOVE this character and in many ways can relate to her wholeheartedly. Really hope it stays true enough. Eep.

    Like

  2. I would also hate fo ryou to see the movie and be dissapointed. I am willing to watch it fo ryou and take one for the team. I swear to be completly honest. It if bastardizes the book or makes it too commercial, I promise to tell you :)

    Like

  3. Hey!

    If you are going to see the movie just totally detach yourself from the book which won’t be too hard actually because they are, basically, night and day. I wrote a blog about “E,P,L” the movie Sunday actually, so you may want to check it out. It might tip the scales one way or another for you? Good luck with the decision!

    Like

  4. Hey!

    If you are going to see the movie you need to just totally detach from the book which shouldn’t be too hard since they are, basically, night and day. I wrote a blog about “E,P,L” the movie Sunday actually so you may want to check it out. It might tip the scales for you one way or another? Good luck with the decision!

    Like

Leave a Reply

