Love Thursday: Childhood Songs, guest post

Special guest post from Rhiannon Mabberley

Rhiannon is one of my best friends. She and I met on the River India trip back in January 2007 and have been buddies ever since. She, Emily, and I hang out together quite a bit and could be dubbed the Three Musketeers. She has a love for adventure and life and I want to thank her so much for contributing to this LOVE THURSDAY!

Flickr Credit: http://www.flickr.com/photos/meaning_absence/2893923578/

This week I’m sending some serious love to songs from my childhood. The songs you learned in grade school that are forever etched into your memory. I find these songs popping into my head at the most random of times, but most often when I’m in traffic or in the shower. Today, after pushing myself through a tough interval training run, and being utterly exhausted, I found myself in the shower singing the Teddy Bear Picnic song: ‘if you go out in the woods today, you’re in for a big surprise. If you go out in the woods today you better go in disguise… Todays the day the teddy bears have their picnic!’. I also very fond of singing the Ant Athem when I’m at work going through papers: ‘the ants go marching one by one, hoorah, hoorah, the ants go marching one by one, hoorah, hoorah, the ants go marching one by one, till the little one stops to suck his thumb, but they all go marching down to the ground, to get out of the rain…’. Other goodies are Baby Beluga by Raffii or Down by the Banks, which was accompanied by a brilliant hand clapping routine.

Whenever I sing these songs, I am instantly put in a good mood. My stress levels go down and I am reminded of simpler times. I feel more light hearted and much more playful. So go ahead, do yourself a favor and break out in tune to a song from your days on the playground. Just don’t blame me when you can’t get it out of your head for the rest of the week :)

2 thoughts on “Love Thursday: Childhood Songs, guest post

Leave a Reply

