Love Thursday: O Magazine

This fall I decided to treat myself to an Oprah Magazine subscription.  I love getting magazines in the mail and a subscription is even better- something to look forward to each month.  When I went online to order the subscription I noticed that there was a MAJOR deal available if you ordered 36 issues- yes, that equates to 3 years of Oprah magazines.  So I decided, what the hell?  I love Oprah, will always love Oprah and she will definitely have the magazine for 3 more years.  So I chose the 3 year subscription, submitted my Visa information, and clicked confirm.

Two days later, Oprah announces she is canceling her show as of 2011, less than 3 years from now.  Great. Just great.  I’m on a pretty tight budget as it is and now I have just frivolously spent money on Oprah who won’t be on the air in 2 years?  I had a series of emails from friends that week asking me how I was coping with the news that Oprah was going off the show.  To be honest I thought “well, that’s her choice- no big deal”.  What I was really concerned about was the magazine.  My frugal nature was coming into play.  Was she going to keep the magazine?  Would she at least refund me my final year of subscription if she didn’t continue?  After a bit of worry and uncertainty, it turns out the magazine will remain in tact and I am safe for the next 3 years.

So where am I going with this?  Well I just received Oprah’s 10 anniversary edition of her magazine the May issue.  I do love getting the magazine each month but sometimes I find the articles a bit redundant.  How to spiritually connect with your inner beauty, How to tweeze your eyebrows to look ageless, Nightcream or Daycream?,  Woman finds passion in helping all of the children in Africa. But, this issue is different.

Perhaps it is the fact that I am quite reflective these days and everything I read or hear seems to resonate with some aspect of my life.  I did mention that I know I am feeling anxious or worried about something when I reach out for the self-help section of everything. So it could be that this is why I connected so well with this month’s issue.

Here are a few articles/quotes that really hit home for me:

Elizabeth Gilbert’s article Failure is the Only Option.  “Let’s just anticipate that we (all of us) will disappoint ourselves somehow in the decade to come.  Go ahead and let it happen.  Let someone else be a better mother than you for one afternoon. Let somebody else go to art school. Let someone else have a happy marriage.  While you’re at it, take the wrong job.  Move to the wrong city.  Lose your temper in front of the boss, quit training for the marathon, wolf down a truckload of cupcakes the day after you start your diet.  Blow it all catastrophically, in fact, then start over with good cheer.  This is what we must all learn to do, for this is how maps get charted – by taking wrong turns that lead to surprising passageways that open into spectacularly unexpected new worlds.”

Shonda Rhimes’ article Happy Feat.  “I see my happy. And it includes cheese.”

Hannah Tinti (author of The Good Thief).  “I fail ever day.  I question why I am a writer every time I sit down to face a blank page.  I get over it by pretending that no one will ever see the words I’m typing.”

…and outside of the O magazine, I came across this: You Are Not Alone: We’re All Trying to Do Our Best

One thought on “Love Thursday: O Magazine

Leave a Reply

