Listening and the Ride to Conquer Cancer!

So I have been sick all week.  It started last weekend with a bad cold, which of course I thought was H1N1, given all of the publicity and media scare as of late.  When I went to the doctor on Monday she said that it was just a bad cold and not to be concerned.  So I went along to work, still coughing and not feeling great.  Well, by Friday I had completely lost my voice.  Laryngitis set in and for the entire weekend I have been mute.  It has not been easy.  For those that know me, you know I love to talk.  So it has been quite the learning experience.

One thing I have noticed is that I definitely listen much more now- rather than trying to get a word in or say something funny to add to the conversation, I have had to sit back and listen to everything happening around me.  I think it has been good for me- to just sit back, take it all in, and actively listen to the conversations around me.  Having noted that, I must say that I am looking forward to speaking again!  Here’s hoping it all comes back for the week!

header_va

On another note, I have signed up for the Ride to Conquer Cancer.  It is a bike ride from Vancouver, BC to Seattle, Washington in June of 2010 in support of Cancer Research.  My sister and friend Rhiannon are riding as well and together we are all a part of “Team Finn”. http://bit.ly/2YCdDP

We are a part of Team Finn, but we ride for each and every Cancer Survivor and “Battler” out there!  For- Dad, Cal, Jerry, John, Joan, Imilda, Lin, Anne,….

For more information about Finn and his family- watch Finn’s father (Patrick) give a speech.
http://www.viddler.com/explore/TeamFinn/videos/1/

Leave a Reply

